Stourbridge Old Edwardian Club

Minutes of the 126th Annual General Meeting Held at the Club

on Monday 4th December 2023 at 8pm



- 1. **Apologies:** Jessica and William Barclay, David Burrows, Stirling Farmer, Rob Hill, Graham Jones, Mark Mees, Ken Meredith, Mark Ryan, Roger Stephenson, Garth Wooldridge.
- Act of Remembrance: President Robin Morrison recorded with regret those present and past members known to have passed away during the period since the previous AGM, namely: Past President Bob Glaze; Others: Roy Dunwell, Donal O'Mahony, Bob Fearn, Peter Roberts, Fred Mason, Martin Jones, Alan Osborne, Ron Taylor. A silence was observed.
- 3. **Minutes of the last Meeting**: The minutes of the previous AGM held on Monday 5th December 2022 had been made available for more than 1 week and it was agreed they should be taken as read.
- 4. **Matters arising**: It was proposed at last AGM that we should have a vehicle for members to submit feedback to the Committee and resolve issues. An electronic means was duly set up and advertised in the "contact us" section of the website and, to date, no responses have been received. Several house decoration projects have been under way during the year to improve the appearance of the Club. Stewart Barclay thanked the Committee for the help given to the snooker community by installing the sun-blocking blinds.
- 5. **Annual report and financial statement**: The Annual report and Financial Statement as circulated to all members were tabled and duly accepted. We ended with a surplus and the club is in a healthy position.

Proposer: Brian Arch, Seconder: Jem Norris

6. Appointment of President for the ensuing year: President Robin Morrison thanked the committee for their help and all the subcommittee chairmen for assistance in managing the running of the Club. He thanked David Trewin for the management, and installation of the new windows against many logistical problems. David Burrows has negotiated a good deal for future energy usage, and we have also had rebates on rates. Jem Norris is still on the management and bar and social subcommittees, and his input is much valued. Tim is continually bringing in more venue hire to help keep the Club going and recently secured a regular booking from the Soroptimists. Venue hirers like the ambience .

The retiring President thanked the Club for his tenure of Office, was hugely honoured to have done it twice - and the General Committee for their support over the last 12 months and manipulating the meetings around his diary due to his move to Nottinghamshire. He thanked Tim-and Tracey for their continued service. He then duly passed the presidency and "chain" to Clive Bowen-Davies . Robin conveyed all best wishes to Clive who already had lots of activities in the diary. Clive said that 3 days before the last AGM a stalwart asked him to help by doing the job which he will do with pride.

- 7. Appointment of Officers and Committee: The new President announced the nominations for appointment as Officers and nominations in respect of General Committee vacancies. All had been proposed and seconded and visible on the notice board for more than 7 days before the meeting. Andrew Taplin was re-nominated to the post of Honorary Membership Secretary; David Burrows as the returning Honorary Treasurer and Alan Roden as the returning Honorary Secretary. Brian Arch, Rob Hill Kenneth Wright, retired from the Committee by rotation and sought re-election. Arnold Homer additionally was nominated for the General Committee. No other nominations had been received for Officer positions nor Committee members and hence no ballot was required. All nominees were duly appointed. There are still 2 vacancies on the Committee.
- Appointment of Honorary Auditor: Messrs Folkes Worton LLP, Chartered Accountants were appointed as Honorary Auditor for the period ending on the date of the next annual general meeting at which accounts are presented to the Club.
 Proposer: David Perry, Seconder: Alastair Norman
- Appointment of Honorary Solicitor: Mr Peter Waldron was appointed as Honorary Solicitor for the period ending on the date of the next annual general meeting.

Proposer: Robin Morrison, Seconder: Jem Norris

- **10. Subsequent Discussion:** Lowell Cartwright proposed we should fly the Black Country flag. It was designed by someone locally. This will be discussed at the next Committee meeting. Niven Mallinson queried the principle of Associates voting for other Associates to be on the Committee. Alan Roden said this was proposed and accepted at last year's AGM and approved. Stewart Barclay raised the issue of Associates meeting with Roger Stephenson as their representative. Alan Roden added that the only differences between Associates and Old Edwardian members were inability to vote at AGM and EGM and no ownership of the Club's assets otherwise they had the same rights. David Perry asked regarding membership numbers. Andrew Taplin answered 219 in total subject to final payments. Lowell Cartwright asked who the next Vice President is. Clive Bowen-Davies said next year we will appoint a new President on the night without the ceremony of first appointing a Vice President. A discussion about how many students are joining from college ensued and it was generally agreed that is now virtually a lost cause (despite many engagements) due to their diverse locations and that the Club has little to offer them in the modern era.
- 11. Vote of thanks: Stewart Barclay thanked the committee for their work over the last 12 months and recorded a vote of thanks for the retiring President Robin Morrison and said much had been done in the last 18 months during his (and past President Rob Hill's) tenure .
- 12. **Other business:** Clive Bowen-Davies thanked Kenneth Wright whose recent lunchtime talk was well attended, and that Kenneth had kindly passed his speaker's fee to Mike Aston to help fund future lunchtime speakers.
- 13. **Close of meeting:** New President Clive Bowen-Davies thanked members for their attendance and thoughts and declared the meeting closed at 8.45 pm.

..... Clive Bowen-Davies 2023-24 President

ATTENDANCE LIST

PRINT NAME	Signature
C. BOWEN-DAVIES	Con Bown . Daving
ALAN RODEW	oplas
CoBIN MORRISON	(IMore Com
ANDREW TAPLIN	XJAaph.
ALFRED GOWHERP	asuns
PETTER CREWEIGIK	P. C.
GRAHAM WOOD	Curry .
KENNETH WRIGHT	1 Wing
MIKE ASTON	Mi Aeloy.
DAVID PERRY	DAten
JEM NORRIS	Denus,
NIVEN MALLINSON	Don Millin
JOHN FARMER	ll Farmer
ARNOLS HOMER	WON.
JOHN BROWN	- Close
MARTYN PRICE	
MIRE LEWIS	A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A
MALCOLM FAZEY	
LOWFIL CARTWRIGHT	towal Most it

PRINT NAME	Signature
ROGER SEABURY	beaty
STEWART SARLAY	- Station
KÖN COWDRY	11 XCAK
AVAITAIN NORMAN	Ahmanne.
BRIAN ARCH	370
DAVID TREWIN	Dhulf Ia
	Brut Ta