Annual General Meeting 2018 

Photos by David Trewin - click any image to enlarge

The 121st Annual General Meeting of the Club took place  on Monday 3rd December 2018.
President Roger Hadley welcomed the 24 members attending - a somewhat disappointing attendance - and the Hon. Secretary conveyed apologies from the 19 who said they could not attend.

Before commencement of the formal proceedings, the President recorded, with regret, the names of those Members who had died during the period since the previous AGM.  They were: Roy Bradley, Vic Condlyffe, John Harold, John Haydon, Tom Knowles, Paul West, Bob Wooldridge. Members stood in silence for one minute as a mark of remembrance and respect to all who had passed away. 


The minutes from the AGM of 2017 had been displayed (and linked via the website) for some time and were duly signed off. It was stated that the Committee will reconsider the case for Associates to be part of General Committee but that position has not changed yet.

The Financial Statements and Annual Report were then tabled and duly approved.

Appointment of President

The existing President, Roger Hadley, reflected on his year in Office and conveyed thanks to members and Committee alike for all their help. He reflected on how fast the time had gone by for a most enjoyable year. We have made improvements on signage, car park, and bar facilities and furnishings. 

He gave additional thanks to Clive Bowen-Davies for handling the Fifty Club lottery and securing additional funds for the Club. Finally he recorded gratitude to Tim and Tracey for the entire way they handle the Stewardship function.

He then proposed that the meeting approve the transfer of the Presidential mantle to Vice-President Brian Arch. The proposal was endorsed, and Brian Arch assumed the Chair as the new President with immediate effect.


Brian Arch, now as the new President, said how proud he was to take on the role of President, and thanked Roger for leading the Club so well in the past 12 months. He announced it was his 71st birthday and reflected on how he had got to this point. 


It was his first boss who initially insisted he joined the Club and attended the last meeting held in the previous Victoria Street building.


He was appointed as Treasurer soon afterwards.  He was in post 23 years as Treasurer and subsequently was elected as an Honorary Life Member, which was a great honour. 

He was also a Trustee of the College for many years. He looked forward to serving the Club, as President for the next 12 months and was delighted to take up the position. 

Appointment of Vice President

The new President gave members an insight into the varied background of the "about to be announced" new Vice President. 


Born in 1949, he attended KEVI Grammar School 1961-1966. He represented the school at Cricket at all levels from Colts up to 2ndX1 (where he opened the batting, and bowled at what Geoff Boycott would have called "Military Medium pace”) and successfully captained Kings House in the Cricket knockout cup final in 1965.


After leaving school, he worked in the Civil Service (MOD RAF Hartlebury), then Ministry of Labour (Cradley Heath and Halesowen). Then he became a sales administrator at Hayes Shell Cast in Lye before finding his niche in Finance. 

He joined South Staffs Building Society in 1973, becoming Branch Manager at Lye in 1977 and again at the larger Brierley Hill Branch in 1978.

In 1982 he moved with his wife Margaret to Ilfracombe where they successfully ran a 13-bedroom hotel for 8 years. In 1990 he moved back to the Midlands and was Branch Manager of Staffordshire Building Society, initially at Uttoxeter and then at Stourport-on-Severn.


In 2000 he joined Prudential as a Financial Consultant until redundancy when the Pru removed its mobile sales force.He then became a self-employed mortgage broker for some 8 years until the mortgage crash.

Though now retired, he works part time, assisting Past President Kenneth Wright in his military history research and IT assignments. He also works as an administrator for an insolvency practitioner.


His interests are in all sports (especially golf, cricket, football, snooker), reading and music. As regards the latter, he is part of a folk singing duo with a lifelong friend and has recently become part of our “Trench Raiders Concert Party entertaining the public and raising money for (mainly) Forces Charities – which he enjoys immensely. 

He was a founding member and inaugural President of Cannock Rotaract Club in 1975 and was a former member and Treasurer of Uttoxeter Lions Club circa 1992.


Now separated from his wife after 46 years of marriage he has a daughter Emily who lives in Oban, Scotland where she gained a B.Sc. in Marine Sciences and subsequently gained an M.Sc. in Environmental Toxicology in Norway.

He is:   Robert Hill. 

In response, Rob wished the President every success.


He said he was delighted and honoured to be appointed as Vice President and looks forward to serving the Club and helping the President in his role.


Appointment of Officers, Committee and Service Providers

The new President announced the nominations for appointment as Officers and nominations in respect of General Committee members seeking re-election following retirement by rotation. 

The existing officers will continue in their present roles unopposed: David Burrows (Hon. Treasurer),  Alan Roden (Hon. Secretary), John Brown (Hon. Membership Secretary). 

Past President Paul Davies has resigned from the Committee, but all other Committee members who had resigned (by rotation ) and offered themselves for re-election were elected:  Mike Aston, Clive Bowen-Davies, John Farmer and David Trewin.

Disappointingly, and despite several public invitations to do so, no other members had put their names forward to be considered for the Committee. The Committee still has 2 vacancies and Old Edwardian members should approach the President or Hon. Secretary should this be of interest.

Additionally, Peter Waldron was elected as Hon. Solicitor and Messrs Folkes Worton as Honorary Auditors.

Vote of Thanks

Speaking on behalf of all Club Members, Jim Higgs said it was a privilege for him to talk about the last year. He said we owed Roger Hadley a debt of gratitude for carrying out his Presidential role so effectively. He thanked Alan Roden as Secretary who, historically, picked up the role at a moment’s notice. He said David Burrows has done an exemplary job as Treasurer for years and also thanked John Brown for executing his Membership role - which at times can be very trying.


 Finally, he thanked the rest of the Committee including Alan Cutler and Roy Sanders who have been co-opted on to key Sub-Committees. 

He concluded:

“We have a unique Club with excellent Stewards. Thanks to the whole management and, in advance, to Brian Arch as the new President” ......   A round of applause was given.   

Other Business

Mike Aston offered congratulations to the new President. He noted that we still have vacancies on the General Committee.  Last year we toyed with the idea of introducing Associate Members onto the Committee.  He asked the Committee to rethink the suggestion (also voiced separately by Graham Wood ). The Committee currently has no snooker representation on the Committee and it would be helpful if there were in view of various issues.

Clive Bowen-Davies commented that the 50 Club contributed about £3000 to the Club’s position (and exceeded the surplus!) and forms were readily available for those who wanted to join.


Lowell Cartwright asked if it was possible for new member applications to receive acknowledgements when they submit new applications as it sometimes takes considerable time for them to receive a final decision. The Committee will review.



11.30-14:30 and  17:30 - 23:00


11:30 - 15:30 and 19:30- 23:00


Drury Lane


West Midlands DY8 1BL

tel: 01384 395635

  • w-facebook