Annual General Meeting 2019

Monday December 2nd 2019

Annual General Meeting 2019

Click any image to enlarge and navigate in the galleries

The 122nd Annual General Meeting of the Club took place on Monday 2nd December 2019.
President Brian Arch welcomed the 28 members attending - and the Hon. Secretary conveyed apologies from those who said they could not attend.

Before commencement of the formal proceedings, the President recorded, with regret, the names of those Members who had died during the period since the previous AGM. These were John Harrold, Jack Edmonds, Neville Mole, Paul Pargeter, John Nightingale, Robin Viner, Keith Cosnett, Tom Jones and Arwyn Thomas.

Members stood in silence for one minute as a mark of remembrance and respect to all who had passed away.
The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting, held on Monday 3rd December 2018, had been displayed on the noticeboard for more than 1 week and it was proposed they should be taken as read (Proposer: David Johnson; Seconder: Roger Hadley) The duly proposed and seconded motion that the Minutes should be approved and signed, in confirmation by the President, was carried. The President accordingly signed the 2018 AGM minutes.

The Annual Report and the Financial Statements for the year ended September 2019, as circulated to all members within the Annual Report, were tabled. The President stated that we might distribute these electronically next year to reduce costs.

Jim Higgs noted that the Officers (Hon. Treasurer, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Membership Secretary) had kindly agreed to reduce their honoraria payments by 50% for this year and stated this should not be seen as a precedent in view of the valuable effort they contribute.

The Financial Statements and Annual Report were duly accepted (Proposer: Kenneth Wright; Seconder: David Johnson).

The existing President, Brian Arch, reflected on his year in Office and conveyed thanks to members and Committee alike for all their help. He thanked all the Committee and members for their support in a wonderful year.

He then proposed that the meeting approve the transfer of the Presidential mantle to Vice-President Rob Hill. The proposal was endorsed, and Rob Hill assumed the Chair as the new President with immediate effect.

Rob Hill, now as the new President, congratulated Brian Arch on his most successful year and excellent work and thanked him for his personal guidance. He looked forward to working with the Committee next year. He said It was a proud moment for him having gone to the school in 1961, never realising that some day he would be President. He promised to uphold the principles of the Club.

Appointment of Vice-President: The new President gave members an insight into the varied background of the "about to be announced" new Vice President.

He was born in Stourbridge.
He attended Kind Edward VI Grammar School from 1965 to 1972.
He read Civil Engineering at University of Birmingham graduating with a BSc Hons degree in 1975.
He initially worked at Dudley Council as Graduate Engineer and became a full member of the Institution of Civil Engineers in 1980.
After working for various local authorities, he moved to Wales in 1995 as Corporate Director of Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council responsible for a workforce of approx. 1500, covering highways, housing, leisure and environmental services.
He was promoted to Chief Executive in 2002. A key objective was the regeneration of the Valleys. He led projects to regenerate the former steelworks at Ebbw Vale to include a new hospital, a new learning campus for post 16 students, a new school for 1400 pupils from ages 4-16, and a leisure centre. He was also strategic lead for the reconstruction of the Ebbw Vale to Cardiff railway line.
He retired in 2011 and returned to the West Midlands and now lives in Wolverhampton.
He and his wife Jenny were married in 1981, having met at Brierley Hill Amateur Operatic Society. They are now active members of Bilston Operatic Company and South Staffs Musical Theatre Company. They have a daughter Katy and a grandson James.

In 2012 he was appointed Chairman of Engaging Communities Staffordshire, a community interest company that acts as a consumer champion for the public in health and social care issues. With a turnover of nearly £2m it delivers contracts across the East and West Midlands and Cheshire.
In May 2019 he was appointed Chair of Worcestershire Children First, an arm’s length company owned by Worcestershire County Council, delivering children’s social services and education services for the county.
He is a keen Rotarian being a member and twice past president of Tettenhall Rotary Club. He has also served as an Assistant District Governor. Jenny was President of Tettenhall Inner Wheel Club last year.
He served as a Foundation Governor and Chair of the Audit Committee of King Edwards College until recently and still serves as a Trustee of the Charitable Trust.

He was duly announced as Robin Morrison. Robin responded and thanked the President for bestowing the honour on him. He said it has been a long time since he was a regular member of the Club but that will now change.

Add a Title
Add a Title
Add a Title

Appointment of Officers, Committee and Service Providers:
The new President announced the nominations for appointment as Officers and nominations in respect of General Committee members seeking re-election following retirement by rotation. Additionally, he was pleased to announce one Associate (Roger Stephenson) had offered himself for election in line with the new Bylaws, which allow up to 2 Associate places. No other Associate had sought election so for the coming year that place was made available to an Old Edwardian member - in this case Gavin Dunn - an established member of our Snooker League team.

Andrew Taplin decided not to seek re-election and has been on the Committee for 28 years including being a Hon. Membership Secretary, looking after the Car Park rentals and aspects of the House Committee. Andrew Taplin said it has been fun on the Committee and continues to offer his expertise on car space rental and property related issues.

Peter Waldron was voted in as Honorary Solicitor, and Messrs Folkes Worton as the Honorary Auditors for the coming year.

Add a Title
Add a Title
Add a Title

Vote of Thanks: Lowell Cartwright thanked last year’s President who has attended functions and done everything expected of him and also the Committee. He said Andrew Taplin, who is standing down after nearly 30 years of service on the Committee, deserves our thanks for his contribution - and a round of applause was given.

Other Business:
John Yeates mentioned Clive Bowen-Davies and for his contribution to the Club’s 50 Club. Clive has not been well recently, but is on good form and his contribution should be minuted – which it is herein.

Niven Mallinson said there is an anomaly that associates cannot vote for associates on the Committee at AGM. Alan Roden confirmed that anyone can propose or second associates to be nominated but conceded that, currently, should there have needed to be a ballot, then only Old Edwardian members could have voted for them in ballot in line with AGM voting rules.

Siward James-Moore congratulated new President Rob Hill, wished him well and hoped he could keep Committee meetings down to the same time level as he managed to do for this AGM!

Add a Title
Add a Title
Add a Title